Coosa-North Georgia Council

Download a list of the Coosa-North Georgia Council Members

Summary and Materials from Coosa-North Georgia Council Meetings

Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) between the council, Georgia Environmental Protection Division, and the Georgia Department of Community Affairs

Vision and Goals

Coosa-North Georgia Council Fact Sheet

The Coosa-North Georgia Council will develop a regional water plan for 18 counties in the Coosa River Basin - Catoosa, Chattooga, Dade, Dawson, Fannin, Floyd, Gilmer, Gordon, Habersham, Lumpkin, Murray, Pickens, Polk, Towns, Union, Walker, White, and Whitfield. These counties rely on surface or groundwater resources within the Coosa-North Georgia region.

The Coosa-North Georgia Council is composed if residents of those 18 counties who were appointed by the Governor, Lt. Governor, and Speaker of the House to prepare a regional water plan. After the regional water plan is adopted, Georgia Environmental Protection Division permits and Georgia Environmental Facilities Authority grants and loans for water projects will be guided by the plan.

Coosa - North Georgia Middle Chattahoochee Metro North Georgia Savannah - Upper Ogeechee Upper Flint Middle Ocmulgee Upper Oconee Lower Flint - Ochlockonee Suwannee - Satilla Altamaha Coastal Georgia